Skip to content
You are here: Home / Rotorua Trust presents $25,000 in scholarships to local polytech students

Rotorua Trust presents $25,000 in scholarships to local polytech students

    DSC_7443smThe Rotorua Energy Charitable Trustpresented 15Waiariki Institute of Technology studentswith scholarships totalling $25,000 at a special ceremony this month.

    The Waiariki Institute of Technology – WhareTakiuraScholarshipsare awardedannually by the Trust to students studying at the Waiariki Institute of Technology.

    The three scholarship categories are Postgraduate, Undergraduate, and Career Enrichment, which is primarily targeted at students over the age of 25.

    This year the Trust awarded 10undergraduate scholarshipsvalued at $1,500 each and fivecareer Enrichment Scholarships valued at $2,000 each.

    Trust Chairman Grahame Hall said the Trust has been backing the Polytechnic for a number of years now by offering the Waiariki Institute of Technology – WhareTakiuraScholarships.

    “Funding the Postgraduate, Undergraduate, and Career Enrichment Scholarships is an important way for us to invest in our community and help to keep local talent in the region,” said Mr Hall.

    “The selection panel has once again been very impressed by the calibre of the applications. This year’s recipients have demonstrated particularly impressive academic ability, leadership skills, commitment to study and motivation to obtain a tertiary qualification.

    “We recognise the efforts they put into their studiesand are pleased to contribute financially to their tertiary education,” he said.

    Mr Hall saidthe Trust awarded 14 scholarships in 2014, and all scholarship recipients are achieving high results in their chosen qualifications.

    Since its inception 20 years ago, Trust has granted $92.8 million to organisations within the Rotorua District.

    This year’s Waiariki Institute of Technology – WhareTakiura Scholarship recipients are:

    Undergraduate Scholarship

    • Angela Hunt
    • AtaliaVulu
    • Emma Campbell
    • Hillary Williams
    • Katie Robinson
    • Kyle Burling
    • Leia Akroyd
    • Samantha Sherwood
    • Selena Layne
    • Simon Mills

    Career Enrichment scholarship

    • Charmaine Jensen
    • Christine McKenzie-Bethell
    • Dean James
    • Natasha TeAu
    • Richard Udy