Tertiary Study Award Criteria

Applicants must be residents of the Rotorua District and have attended for the 2017 Y13 academic year, one of the following schools:

  • Rotorua Boys’ High School
  • Rotorua Girls’ High School
  • Rotorua Lakes High School
  • Western Heights High School
  • Reporoa College
  • John Paul College
  • Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Ruamata
  • Te Kura Kaupapa o Te Koutu
  • Te Kura o Ngati Rongomai
  • Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Hurungaterangi

The student’s immediate family must reside in the Rotorua District at the time of application.

Five awards will be based on academic achievement during 2017.

The other 15 awards will be assessed in terms of the applicant’s leadership skills as well as their level of involvement in school, cultural and wider community activities.

All awardees will need to hold “University Entrance” and be enrolled to attend a New Zealand University as a full-time student in 2018.

Consideration of all awards will be based solely on the information contained in the application form.

No supporting documentation is required with the application.


Application Close-off Date

Applications must be received by the Trust by 5.00PM, Thursday 30 November 2017.

Late applications will not be accepted.


Selection Process

The selection panel will determine the 20 successful applicants based on the information contained in the application form and NCEA results. In some instances, the panel may consider it necessary to interview some applicants. Should this situation arise, applicants will be informed in January 2018 (after NCEA results are available).

Applicants will be notified of the selection panel’s decision by the end of January 2018.

The Trust reserves the right to reduce the number of Study Awards presented.


Terms and Conditions

Each tertiary study award has a value of $2,000 per annum which will be paid in two instalments of $1,000 each – on 1 March and 1 July – during the term of the award.

All funding will be renewable, if academic progress is satisfactory, for a maximum period of four years.

Funding is only provided to assist students obtain their first tertiary qualification.

In the case where a student is undertaking a joint degree funding will be provided for a maximum term of four years.

Where a student is undertaking Honours then funding will only be provided for the period required for the primary qualification.

Students are able to hold other awards and scholarships in conjunction with the tertiary study award so long as the value of these other awards and scholarships does not exceed $10,000 per year. The Trust is to be notified of all such awards and scholarships.

Award recipients will be will be required to provide a summary of their academic results by the end of each year. Failure to provide this information will result in future funding being withheld. If unforeseen circumstances arise which prevent a recipient from achieving the expected academic results, the Trust should be informed of this.

The Trust reserves the right to publicly present the successful applicants with their awards, and to terminate any funding because of unsatisfactory conduct or progress on the part of the recipient.


Application enquiries should be directed to:

Lee-Anne Thompson
Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust
P O Box 1418
Phone: (07) 347 6239
Facsimile: (07) 347 6305
Email: info@rotoruatrust.org.nz


Applications must be received at the Trust’s office by 5.00 PM Thursday 30 November 2017.

Back to top