Rotorua’s Top Students Acknowledged

A group of Rotorua’s top students will be embarking on their university studies later in the month with extra funds in their bank accounts thanks to the Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust.

Twenty school leavers were presented tertiary scholarships of $2,000 each for up to four years and a further five students completing qualifications at the Wairiki Institute of Technology were awarded $1,500 each at a function at the Sir Howard Morrison Events Centre on Tuesday night.

According to Trust chair Grahame Hall, the scholarships bring to over $20 million the Rotorua Trust’s contribution to education in Rotoruasince its inception in 1994.

“Trustees regard education as critical to the continued development of the city and attach a high priority to helping young people achieve their full potential through access to education.”

The 20 scholarships were spread amongst all secondary schools in the Rotorua/Reporoa catchment.

The criteria for the awards this year were amended slightly to include leadership and community involvement.

“All recipients have demonstrated both strong academic performance as a well as high levels of leadership and an active commitment to involvement in their local communities. The Trust is delighted to be able to support such a well-rounded group of young leaders” said Mr Hall.

Recipients and their families were also treated on the night to an entertaining presentation and insight into university life by 2010 scholarship recipient Sean Casey who has now returned to Rotorua as a qualified lawyer and member of the bar.

Applications for the Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust scholarships for 2017 will be available on the Trust’s website from October.

For further information contact:

Grahame Hall
Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust
Phone: 0274 955 017

List of recipients.

2016 Tertiary Study Awardees

Jodie Allely – Rotorua Lakes High School

Sasha Douglas – Western Heights High School

Jessica Gordon – Rotorua Lakes High School

Franz Gous – Rotorua Boys’ High School

Matthew Hathaway –  Reporoa College

Seungwon Kim – Western Heights High School

SangKyu Lee – Rotorua Boys’ High School

Thomas Lees – Western Heights High School

Kirsty Lickfold – Rotorua Girls High School

DeepikaMagesan – Western Heights High School

Montana Mareroa – Rotorua Girls High School

Amy Moon – Western Heights High School

DahamNanayakkara – John Paul College

Arvin Pingol – John Paul College

LorinTiedt – John Paul College

Elly van der Laan – Reporoa College

Rebecca Veitch – John Paul College

Lucy Waldin – Rotorua Lakes High School

Jack Weston – Rotorua Lakes High School

Ashleigh Whitmore – Western Heights High School

2016 WaiarikiWhareTakiura Scholarships

Kayla Broad
Diploma in Forest Management

Meredith Herbert
Bachelor of Applied Social Science

Samantha Moore
Bachelor of Nursing

Sylvia Samuels
Bachelor of Nursing

Te Ruia Wallace
NZ Diploma in Arts & Design

Back to top