Heritage Collection

A celebration of artworks inspired by the Rotorua District and its people

Preserving the history of the region, the Heritage Collection is an important historical art record that celebrates artworks inspired by the Rotorua region and its people.

The Trust started the collection in 2000 and has since acquired 150 pieces of work for generations to enjoy.

Spanning the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries, the collection features many well-known New Zealand artists as well as Rotorua artists and works that have been inspired by Rotorua’s people and its landscape, through a range of mediums.

The collection is maintained on behalf of the Trust by the Rotorua Museum of Art and History – Te Whare Taonga O Te Arawa.


Aubrey, Christopher

Backhouse, J. Philemon

Bakkenes, Walter

Barraud, Charles Decimus

Barton, Cranleigh

Blomfield, Charles

Bollard, William

Bond, J A

Brabazon, Yvonne

Brake, Brian

Brown, Helen

Bullmore, Edward

Carlton, Rix

Clark, Russell

Connelly, W G

de Lancy Green, Thelma

Duncan, John Cam

Edwards, E G

Fisher, F

Fox, William

Goldie, Charles F

Gunn, W

Harvey, Robert

Heaphy, Charles

Hellaby, Richard S

Holmwood, John

Horsley, Jean

Howorth, Charles

Hoyte, John Barr Clarke

Johnson, Lucretia

Kinder, John

King, Marcus

Larkin, Peata

Lloyd, Trevor

McIntyre, Peter

Moriarty, Peter

Mourant, Elise

Nerli, Girolamo

Nigro, Jan

Partington, William

Pattle, H H

Payton, Edward W

Perkins, Christopher

Pitt, Emilina

Richardson, Gwenyth

Richmond, Dorothy Kate

Robley, H G

Ryan, Thomas

Schoon, Theo

Spence, Percy

Stoddart, Margaret

Tole, Charles


Von Meyern, Ellen

Wadham, William Joseph

Wallis, Wilfred Stanley

Watkins, Kennett

Weeks, John

Whites Aviation Ltd

Whyte, Alice

Wright, Walter

Wynyard, Robert Henry

Back to top