Trust public election confirmed

Seven nominations for the Rotorua Energy Charitable Trust have now been received, confirming that a public election will officially take place on 19 November, 2016.

In 2013, six nominations were received for the six Trustee positions, meaning a public election process was not required.

As at Monday 12 September, nominations have been received from Jo-Anne La Grouw, Jon Olphert, Mike Keefe, Peter Bentley, Sandra Kai Fong, Stewart Edward and Waitsu Wu.

Trust manager, Tony Gill, says the Trust is pleased with the interest in this year’s elections from the Rotorua community.

“The Trust has an impact on just about every person in Rotorua so it’s essential that our board has a diverse mix of skilled people who reflect our community.

“We want to attract applicants from a range of different backgrounds, ethnicities and ages, who are passionate about Rotorua, and have the skills to make a difference.

“The Trust exists to contribute towards a more vibrant Rotorua community, and one of the key roles of trustees is to effectively and responsibly oversee the growth of the Trust’s assets in order to deliver on this core objective.

“The Trust’s capital is one of the largest of any charitable trust in New Zealand. It is the role of the six trustees to act both as guardians and enablers – protecting the fund and ensuring grants are directed to groups that have a positive impact on the community.”

Nominations can be made until next Friday, 23 September at 12 noon.

Application forms can be downloaded from the Trust website or can be collected from the Trust office during normal business hours at 1358 Eruera Street, Rotorua.

For more information, contact the Trust on 07 347 6239 or the electoral office on 0800 922 822

Back to top